206 - 4304 Village Centre Court Mississauga, Ontario L4S 1S2



Tel: 416.417.0057 Fax: 905.275.7676 ⊠ W.Gajda@unifor4000.com

Wesley Gajda	
Regional	Representative

Barry Kennedy President Heather Grant Secretary Treasurer

## February 26, 2014

## **Attention: CNTL Vancouver Owner Operators – Unifor Members**

Approximately 1,200 Metro Vancouver non-unionized container truck drivers are parking their trucks today and preparing to strike in protest of long wait times at Vancouver port facilities. They are reporting to the media that they are fed up with having to wait several hours to pick up cargo at Vancouver shipping terminals.

Unifor National Council 4000 takes this opportunity to express our full support for these truck drivers and appreciate and understand their concerns. Wait time is a shared concern of all truck drivers, particularly Owner Operators.

Despite our support, we must also advise our <u>Unifor membership at CNTL</u> that you are legally required to work as usual despite job action taken by other truck drivers, non-union or unionized.

You are, however, <u>legally entitled</u> to refuse to perform any work normally done by workers or truck drivers that are on strike. In the event of possible picket lines, it is CN and CNTL's obligation to ensure full communications with our Union and our members if any difficulties arise.

If you feel that your personal safety may be in jeopardy by crossing a picket line, or you are concerned of potential damages to your truck, you should refrain from crossing any picket line and *immediately* contact your driver manager or CNTL Dispatch and advise them of your concerns.

If any problems should arise when communicating with CNTL management, you should contact my office for assistance. Let us deal with management on your behalf.

In Solidarity,

Wesley Gajda Regional Representative Unifor National Council 4000 Telephone: 416-417-0057 Email: W.Gajda@Unifor4000.com

Cc: Barry Kennedy – President, Unifor National Council 4000 Unifor CNTL Chief Shop Stewards / Local Chairpersons Bob Fitzgerald - National Representative, Unifor